Products & Techniques For Hard To Curl Hair

I was born one of those unfortunate people who for the life of me cannot get my hair to stay curled when I try to give it a little dimension. My hair is really fine and pretty much stick straight. Usually when I try to curl it, it will last for maybe an hour and then completely fall back to being straight. I’ve tried so many different “magic tricks”, which usually end up failing.

I have finally found a great combination of products and techniques that actually hold the curls! Works so well that I can even wear it the next day. Ahh!

hair 3

I’ve always heard that “day old” hair is usually the best way to ensure curls staying in tact. However, my hair would never let me go a day without washing. I understand washing daily isn’t the best for your hair, but if I tried to I would look like a total grease ball. I found these great products to help give me the feel of “day old” hair without all the oil, which in turn helps hold the curls.

Here’s the routine in which I achieve these all day curls.

hair 5 hair

After shampooing and conditioning, while it’s still pretty wet, I apply a quarter size drop of Herbal Essences Curl Define & Hold Cream and John Frieda Dream Curls Curl Perfecting Spray. Only apply both of these products to the bottom part of the hair, avoiding the roots. I will then let my hair air dry for about 20 minutes.

hair 6hair 2

After my hair is about half way dried I will apply the following products: Big Sexy Hair Blow Dry Volumizing Gel and Tresemme Heat Protectant. Depending how my hair feels at this point, I might add a little more of the Herbal Essences Curl Cream. It’s so important to add a heat protectant when using any kind of hot tools. Air drying part of the way is also a great way to protect your hair and ward off more unnecessary heat. I like to add the heat protectant before I blow dry my hair, but adding it right before you curl works too.

hair 8 hair 7

The next steps include blow drying and then curling to your liking. I have found that if I use tight curls, using a 1″ curling iron they tend to last longer. Also throughout the day the curls will drop and give the look of large, bouncy, curls; which usually is the ultimate goal. I will hairspray my hair before I curl and end with a small spritz once finished, trying not to give it a crunchy feeling. I have found that with using these products, a lot of hairspray isn’t necessarily needed in the end. I like to use Garnier Flexible Control Hairspraywhen I do feel a little “mist” is needed.

Volia!

hair 4

signature

 

Leave a comment