Urban Decay Naked Palette Tutorial

I’ve owned my Urban Decay Naked 1 Palette for a couple years now, and still am very much in love with it. I know the Naked 2 and newest 3 have recently come out, but I still feel that my Naked 1 gets the job done. I think once my palette is just about gone I’ll try out the new one. For now, I’ve decided to give a short tutorial on my favorite colors to use for a softened smokey eye look.

In addition, I’ve recently purchased a liquid and gel eye liner. I wanted to try out something different from my usual eye pencil. I’ll get into more detail once we come to that step.

tools

These are the tools that I use to achieve this look:

Urban Decay Primer Potion (or any of your favorite!), a highlighter for your brow bone, flat shadow brush, fluffy blending brush, contouring brush, and last a medium angle brush.

lighttoasted virgin

Once primed, apply Toasted with a medium flat brush to the outer lid. With the same brush, flipped over, apply Virgin to the inner part of the eye lid.

buffing buck

Next, with a blending brush, apply Buck to just above the eye lid in the crease.

contour hustle & creep

Using both Hustle & Creep, apply on the outer portion of the eye in a “C” motion. You can bring this in along the outer part of the eye lashes as well. Add as much or little as you prefer to achieve the grade of smokey you are looking for. Once applied, use the fluffy blending brush to blend out any harsh lines that may have been created when applying your contour colors.

no liner hustle

This step is optional. With an angled brush apply Hustle directly under the lower lashes. After adding the darker, contouring colors, I usually go back in with Virgin to brighten up the inner lid, as some excess shadow usually falls on it.

And last but not least, eye liner. Like I mentioned earlier in the post, I wanted to try out a gel eye liner as well as a liquid one. I’ve always been caution about using these. They seem so scary to apply! Boy was I wrong. They are both so simple and I actually feel that I get more of a precise line than I do with a pencil eye liner.

final with linergel liquid

On the left eye I used Maybelline EyeStudio gel liner. This liner comes with a small brush to apply which is great because the bristles stay super tight and make applying easy. On the right I used a liquid eyeliner by ELF. You can’t see in this picture but the brush is really thin and fine which allows you to apply with ease. As you can probably tell, there isn’t much of a difference in the picture. I honestly can’t say that I choose one over the other! They are both easy to apply and give more of a defined look. My mind has definitely been changed on liners since I’ve purchased these!

This look is super simple and easy to achieve. The Naked palette is so versatile with the natural colors it provides.

Enjoy!

 signature

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Palette Tutorial

Leave a comment